Elected Representatives

The Bar Council is responsible for the governance, regulation and representation of the profession. Elected biannually, the Council is comprised of a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Bursar, at least 4 King’s Counsel, Junior Counsel and one barrister of less than 3 years in practice.

Chair: Moira Smyth KC

Vice Chair: Donal Lunny KC

Bursar: Peter Coll KC

Members of the Bar Council:

Niall Hunt KC

Ronan Lavery KC

Gary McHugh KC

Michael Chambers BL

Mark Conlon BL

Thomas Fitzpatrick BL

Michael Forde BL

Alana Harty BL

Denise Kiley BL

Paula McKernan BL

Grainne Murphy BL

Louise Murphy BL

Nicola Rountree BL

Aidan Sands BL

Michael Sheil BL

Matthew Yardley BL

The Bar Council discharges its regulatory functions through the Professional Conduct Committee. The Professional Conduct Committee includes experienced practitioners across a range of legal specialities and two lay representatives.

Chair: David Russell BL

Vice Chair: Liam McCollum KC

JonPaul Shields BL

Ronan Daly BL

Julie Ellison BL

Suzanne Simpson KC

Paula O’Kane BL

Richard Coghlin KC

Hugh MacMahon BL

Louise Maguire BL

Roger Dowd BL

Mel Power KC

Leona McEvoy BL

Alison Millar (Lay Rep)

Jacquie White (Lay Rep)